Shadow Weave #4 (& my experience weaving with chenille)

I have worked with chenille in the past but was never quite satisfied with the results because I encountered problems with the finished fabric such as worming (tiny loops of the yarn appear on the fabric), the fabric shed too much when I shook it, and the fringes became partially untwisted.

So I asked other weavers how they solved these problems.  Su Butler recommended that I use a closer sett that was very helpful.  I also read Ruth Blau’s article (Rayon Chenille: A Primer) in issue #41 of Weaver’s magazine that I highly recommend.  The article also includes step-by-step instructions on how to weave a beautiful rayon chenille “Snowflake Shadow Shawl.”

Ruth gave me permission to quote from her article and here are some points to keep in mind:

“A rayon chenille of 1450 yds/lb, for example, should be sett at 15 or 16 epi for plain weave and as close as 20 epi for twills.”

“Because chenille has a tendency to ‘worm’ (little loops of the fiber migrate to the surface of the finished fabric), choose structures with no floats or very short ones.  Plain weave is the safest choice.  Shadow weave, a plain-weave structure with occasional 2-thread floats, can also be used….”

“There may be as many ways to finish chenille as there are weavers who use the fiber….” Ruth goes on to describe three ways of wet finishing that work well.

I recently wove some rayon chenille scarves and I’m happy with the results.  Below are images of one of the scarves, the weaving draft and a description of the finishing techniques I used.  The weaving draft is from a pattern I tweaked (#8-8-11) from Marian Powell’s book, 1,000 (+) Patterns in 4, 6, and 8 Harness Shadow Weaves.

Shadow Weave #4 Chenille Scarf

Shadow Weave #4 Chenille Scarf

Shadow Weave #4 Chenille Scarf (detail)

Shadow Weave #4 Chenille Scarf (detail)

Shadow Weave #4 draft

Shadow Weave #4 draft

Shadow Weave #4 draft showing structure

Shadow Weave #4 draft showing structure

  1. I used rayon chenille (1450 yds/lb) sett 18 epi and a floating selvedge on each side.
  2. After removing the woven scarf from the loom, using a fringe twister I tightly twisted the fringes (2 ends with 2 ends).
  3. I then washed it and rinsed it by hand in lukewarm water, placed it in the washing machine on the spin cycle only and stopped it every now and then to make sure it doesn’t crease too much.
  4. Next, it went into the dryer with a couple of towels on low heat and I alternated between heat and air dry (my dryer is temperamental) being careful it doesn’t get too hot and removed it when it was completely dry.
  5. I trimmed the fringes and put a little bit of anti-fray fabric glue on the bottom of the knots.

To Home Page

Explore posts in the same categories: Color-and-Weave, Shadow Weave

Tags: , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on “Shadow Weave #4 (& my experience weaving with chenille)”

  1. buyathread Says:

    Beautiful scarf, Eva, I especially love the fringe! I have learned chenille’s limitations the hard way but if one survives, it’s a great fiber.

    Fern

  2. Janet Says:

    Wow! That is georgeous! It is enough to make me want a multishaft loom. I love the four shaft, but what you did there would be a good argument for more shafts. I wish I could touch it. It doesn’t look like chenille. The design is so crisp and clear. I haven’t worked with chenille, but I would expect it to look fuzzier. Great job!

    • evasweaving Says:

      Thank you Janet. I think the close sett helps make it look so crisp and it feels like velvet.


  3. Omg! I can’t believe this is chenille! It is amazing and I bet even better to wear, well done and thanks for your post.I have only had bad experiences weaving with chenille. I must try it again with these instructions in mind.
    Your website is great and beautifully set out.
    Thanks again
    Shirley

    • evasweaving Says:

      Thank you Shirley! The way I describe the finishing process here is what worked best for me after trying other ways. The fringes are still tricky and you might have to retwist a few after finishing.
      Eva


Comments are closed.