Summer & Winter Table Runner

I recently wove the Summer & Winter Table Runner that is described below.  I usually design a profile draft first for this type of weave to see what the overall pattern would look like and then create the weaving draft by choosing the type of Summer & Winter weave I want to use.  With the help of my weaving program, in this case I decided to skip the profile draft and first create a threading and treadling draft for 14 blocks of a traditional type of Summer & Winter weave and then design the pattern in the tie-up.  I tried many patterns and chose the one that reminds me of embroidered cross-stitching of an intricate pattern with soft colors, subtle yet complex.

Summer & Winter Table Runner

Summer & Winter Table Runner

Summer & Winter Table Runner (other side)

Summer & Winter Table Runner (other side)

Summer & Winter Table Runner (detail)

Summer & Winter Table Runner (detail)

Summer & Winter Table Runner Weaving Draft 1

Summer & Winter Table Runner Weaving Draft 1

Summer & Winter Table Runner Weaving Draft 2

Summer & Winter Table Runner Weaving Draft 2

Summer & Winter Weaving Notes

Summer & Winter Weaving Notes

Additional Notes:

The threading and treadling notes above describe in words what you see on the weaving draft.  To see the full draft clearly you would need the WIF file and my site does not support WIF file types.  If you would like the WIF let me know and I can e-mail it to you.

I wove this 14 block table runner on my 16 shaft Macomber loom.  One of the treadles for the plain weave ground weft had to be tied to 14 shafts, too heavy for me to lift with one foot.  So I tied it to 2 treadles in the center of the other treadles with 7 shafts each and pressed with both feet to lift all 14.

For the warp I used 20/2 cream and pale yellow cotton sett 36 epi; for the weft 20/2 pale yellow for the ground and 5/2 lavender pearl cotton for the pattern.  The finished piece measures 43″ x 16″ after washing by hand and ironing while still lightly damp.

To Home Page

Explore posts in the same categories: Summer & Winter

Tags: , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on “Summer & Winter Table Runner”

  1. Lillian Whipple Says:

    Eva, your S&W runner turned out very well. Glad you could explore a new way to design. Great!

    • evasweaving Says:

      Lillian, thank you for your comment and for being such a wonderful coordinator of the Fine Threads group, always encouraging and inspiring all of us.
      Eva

  2. buyathread Says:

    Stunningly beautiful runner, Eva, and such an interesting use of the S&W structure! Until now I didn’t know that S&W had so much design potential so extra thanks for sharing the article links.

  3. Linda Says:

    Saw your link to this on the Weaving list–it’s just stunning! I’m especially impressed that you did it on a Macomber–mine only has 4 harnesses for now and I’m continually amazed at how it can grow. I think it’s my forever loom!

    • evasweaving Says:

      Thanks Linda, it was a lot of fun weaving it on my faithful Macomber but I wouldn’t try weaving a lot of yardage of it this way.

  4. lizy robinson Says:

    Eva this is so pretty….no table should be without one..am a great fan of all you do….lizzy


Comments are closed.