Networked Double Weave Wall Hanging

Weaving has been a comfort to me during these worrisome times.  To keep my mind from wandering, I decided to design and weave something intricate that would keep me focused.  It took me quite a while to come up with a design I liked for a networked double weave wall hanging.  The final design turned out to have over 1,000 warp ends, and it kept me happily occupied as I was weaving it on my 16- shaft treadle loom.

Here’s how it turned out:

Networked Double Weave Wall Hanging woven on 16 shafts, cotton, 2020

Networked Double Weave Wall Hanging woven on 16 shafts, cotton, 2020 (close-up)

These are the 20/2 cotton yarns I used and the warp that was long enough to weave two wall hangings:

Yarns and wound warp for Networked Double Weave Wall Hanging, 2020

Threading the loom at 56 e.p.i.:

Threading the loom for Networked Double Weave Wall Hanging, 2020

Weaving in progress on the loom:

Networked Double Weave Wall Hanging woven on 16 shafts, cotton, 2020 (on the loom)

The partial draft below shows the order of the colored threads and how they interlace with each other.  I have written several posts about different types of double weave, including networked double weave, that have more detailed notes and drafts if anyone is interested to learn more.

Partial Draft for Networked Double Weave Wall Hanging, 2020 (interlacement view)

Here’s another networked double weave wall hanging I designed and wove a few years ago:

Networked Double Weave Wall Hanging woven on 16 shafts, cotton, 2017

Networked Double Weave Wall Hanging woven on 16 shafts, cotton, 2017 (on the loom)

Inspiration from my flower garden:

Zinnia, Bee Balm, Mallow, 2020

I wish for all the weavers to keep on weaving, and for everyone to be safe.

See you next time!

To Home Page

Explore posts in the same categories: Double Weave, Networked Drafts

Tags: , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

17 Comments on “Networked Double Weave Wall Hanging”

  1. Maryse Levenson Says:

    Beautiful!

  2. denisekovnat Says:

    Eva, thanks so much for sharing your beautiful weaving! I am a great fan — and I too have found my weaving to be very comforting over the past few months. Your designs are some of the best I have ever seen and I say that with sincerity. I always learn from you.

    Regards,
    Denise Kovnat

  3. Mawusi Says:

    Love it!

  4. John O'Shaughnessy Says:

    Great work and very inspiring.

  5. Jacki Margis Says:

    Beyond wonderful!

  6. dianeore Says:

    Amazing work, as ever, Eva! Thanks for sharing your weaving with the world!

  7. Nancy Peck Says:

    Wow! Very inspiring and thanks for sharing.

  8. Rose Says:

    Wow!! When your post said double weave I had to look and I wasn’t disappointed! That had to have kept you occupied for months!

  9. Barbara Says:

    I love the details in the closeup photo!

  10. Carla Gladstone Says:

    Eva, that is just gorgeous. I’ll bet it was fun to design and fun to weave. Thank you for sharing.

  11. Andreja Zelinka Says:

    Congratulations, Eva! I admire your skill and love your imagination.

  12. A Schipf Says:

    I would love to learn more- I got a multi harness (small 24 shaft workshop) loom last fall so finally after all these years of dreaming about complex patterns I can actually try them!

  13. A Schipf Says:

    And Most importantly-your piece is wonderful

  14. Jacqueline Hitchen Says:

    This is absolutely stunning. Like you Weaving has been such an outlet during this worrying time 🇬🇧 and I thank you for being such a wonderful inspiration 💕

  15. Linda Oriti Says:

    Wow! Just stunning! Thank you for sharing!

  16. evasweaving Says:

    Wow, thank you all for your wonderful comments, I appreciate each and every one!
    Eva

  17. Alaa Mencke Says:

    I always appreciate your posts and the valuable information you share with us. Your weaving, s always, inspiring and beautiful.
    It was your post on double width weave that gave me the courage to do it. Thank you so much.


Comments are closed.